An open letter to fans of cncpics.com

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

Many of you don’t know but I’m just a contributing photographer and take the time to make most of the forum posts for cncpics.com.

Lately there has been a lot of bad behavior at Cars and Coffee Irvine. Most of the bad behavior seems to come from those drivers of mostly stock late model vehicles, which might be at home at your regular summer car shows, but are not really that special to show off at Cars and Coffee. These people seem to feel entitled to show off their cars and become offended when one suggests that they park their cars in the clearly marked exhibitor area.

Max the owner of the site, the one who keeps cncpics.com up and running for your viewing pressure wrote this letter:

For some time I have had a nagging doubt that posting the photographs from Cars and Coffee each week is contributing to the degradation of the event.

In the last few years the event has seen a considerable drop-off in quality with a corresponding increase in the number of late model Mustangs, Corvettes, Porsches, BMW’s and the like.

Last week as I left the parking lot, I exited behind a minty Aston Martin DB5 that had not managed to get a show spot.

It occurs to me that many late-model cars have now become fixtures.

We barely bother to photograph these regular attendees, very few people will find a photograph of, say, a Mustang GT with chrome wheels very interesting. Except the owner, obviously.

I would estimate that each week something close to half of the cars in the show lot could be swapped out with something more interesting that was bumped to the public parking structure.